Warning: mysql_fetch_object(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/minsoc/www/include.php on line 219
The Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland - Collins Medal
12 Baylis Mews, Amyand Park Road, Twickenham, Middlesex, TW1 3HQ, United Kingdom.

Tel: +44 (0)20 8891 6600
Fax: +44 (0)20 8891 6599
Email: info@minersoc.org

Registered Charity No. 233706
VAT Reg. No. GB 238 7676 17

Photo Gallery

Click on a photo to enlarge and for more information.

Collins Medal



At its meeting in March 2008, the Society’s Council finalized an agreement, initiated in 2007, to establish a new medal, named after Joseph Henry Collins (1841–1916), mining engineer, mineralogist and geologist, and one of the founding members of the Society. The first award was made by the Society in 2010.

'The Collins Medal will be awarded annually to a scientist who, during a long and active career, has made an outstanding contribution to pure or applied aspects of Mineral Sciences and associated studies. Publications, teaching, outreach and other activities leading to the promotion of mineral sciences, in the broadest sense, will be taken into account in making the award. Nominees do not have to be Members of the Mineralogical Society or nationals of Great Britain and Ireland.'

Nominations sought for the Collins medal

Nominations should include a statement on the merits of the candidate, a summary curriculum vitae and a list of the nominee's more important contributions. In addition to the main nominator there should be a letter of support from a seconder; both nominator and seconder should be members of the Society. Further letters of support may be submitted from up to two additional people (who do not have to be members of the Society). Nominations will remain on the table for three years. Previous recipients of the award, Society Officers, members of Council and members of the Committee (at the time of nomination and adjudication) will not be eligible for the award. Since 2012, it is possible to make your nomination using a form to which nominators, seconders and others may contribute. The aim is to reduce the amount of work required to make a nomination.

Nominations for the 2019 medal should be sent to the Chair of the Awards Committee, at the Society's office, to arrive not later than 20th April 2018. If not using the form mentioned above, submissions should be in the form of a single package in pdf format, to include the nomination letters, CV of the candidate and the additional letters of support. The nomination package should be attached to an e-mail with a title which identifies the name of the award and the name of the nominee. The e-mail address to use is info@minersoc.org

The nominations will be considered and recommendations for award made by the Society’s Awards Committee.

Previous winners

2017   B.W.D. Yardley
2016   M.J. Wilson
2015   E.S. Grew
2014   M. Brown
2013   C.V. Jeans
2012   J.B. Dawson
2011   A.H. Rankin
2010   C.H. Emeleus